Clinton Nieweg

Clinton Nieweg

Clinton F. Nieweg, retired Principal Librarian of the Philadelphia Orchestra, is currently manager and free lance consultant of ~ Proof Purr-fect Research ~ for conductors and librarians.

He graduated from West Chester University with a Bachelor's degree in Music Education in 1959. While living in Reading PA he studied double bass with Wes Fisher, and harp with Edna Phillips, former principal harp of The Philadelphia Orchestra; his library mentor was Jesse Taynton, former principal librarian of the Orchestra. Mr. Nieweg joined the Philadelphia Orchestra in 1975 as Assistant Librarian and became Principal Librarian in 1979. Prior to his joining the Orchestra, Mr. Nieweg was head of the instrumental department at J.W. Pepper & Son Music Publishers and rental librarian at Theodore Presser Music Publishers. In 1989 he received the Philadelphia Orchestra's C. Hartman Kuhn Award from Maestro Riccardo Muti.

Mr. Nieweg is co-founder and past president of MOLA (the Major Orchestra Librarians' Association), the international organization with a membership of 300+ orchestra librarians. He is currently a contributing editor of the "Score and Parts" column of the Journal of the Conductors' Guild and recently founded a Yahoo! Group - OLI (Orchestra Library Information) for the small and mid-budget orchestra librarians.

Fifty six corrected editions have been prepared under his direction in the Nieweg Performance Editions, which are published by Edwin F. Kalmus & Co. LC. These editions were corrected with the help of the many orchestra librarians whom he mentors and include standard orchestra literature such as Debussy La Mer; Holst The Planets; Ravel Alborada del gracioso, Daphnis et Chloé Ballet, La Valse; Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio Espagnol, Scheherazade; and R. Strauss Death and Transfiguration, Don Juan, and Till Eulenspiegel. These editions are used by many orchestras world-wide.

Nieweg retired from the Philadelphia Orchestra in December 2002 and was recognized by The Philadelphia Orchestra Association for his many years of outstanding service and musicianship. He continues to mentor orchestra librarian students and compile research for conductors and librarians.

The 2005 edition of David Daniels's Orchestral Music: A Handbook, Fourth Edition, Scarecrow Press was dedicated to him for his contribution in proofing each of the 6400 entries listed and finding the current publisher or agent of each work.

Articles by Clinton Nieweg:

Errata and the Orchestra Librarian
July 24, 2019